
State of California
Of#ice of Administrative .Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
California Health Benefit Exchange REGULATORY ACTION

Regulatory Action:

Title 10, California Code. of Regulations

Adopt sections:
Amend sections: 6532
Repeal sections:

Government Code Sections 11346.1 and
11349.6

OAL Matter Number: 2019-1101-02

OAS Matter Type: Emergency Resubmittai
DER)

This action amends the California Health Benefit Exchange (HBEX) regu)atian
concerning second empiayer premium. payments which are returned unpaid for any
reason within six months of a prior. returned payment. The amendment specifies that
the employer must submit the premium payment and insufficient funds fee by cashier's
check or money order and continue to make premium. payments by one of these.
methods for. a period of 12 months thereafter.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code.

This emergency regulatory action is effective on 1/1/2020 and will expire on 1/1/2025...
The .Certificate of Compliance. for this action is due no later than 12/3112024.

Date: ..November 7, 201.9 /~%~~~ i~~~ ~~--~/~
~~ Dale P. Mentink~

Senior Attorney

For: Kenneth J. Pogue
Director

Original: Peter Lee, Executive Director
Copy: Faviola Adams
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Title 10. Investment

Chapter 12. California Health Benefit Exchange

Article 4. General Provisions

§ 6532. Employer Payment of Premiums.

{a) Upon completion of the initial employee open enrollment .period. by .all of the

qualified employees. of a qualified employer, the SHOP will. send an invoice to the

.qualified employer far the total premium amount due for all of that qualified employer's

qualified employees.

{1} A qualified employer's first premium payment shall be no less than 85 percent

of the total amount due and must be delivered to the SHOP or postmarked by the due

date indicated on .the invoice, for effectuation to occur on the. date. requested on the

employer's. application.

{2) If a qualified employer's first payment does not mee# the requirements in

subdivision (a)(1), the SHOP will cancel the. application of that. qualified employer and

the applications. of that employer's qualified .employees.

(b) Once coverage is effective, the SHOP will send invoices to qualified

employers on the 15th of each month, or the following business day if the 15th falls on a

weekend or holiday, for health insurance coverage for the following month.

(1) A qualified employer's monthly premium payment must be delivered to the

SHOP or postmarked by the fast day of the invoicing month.

(2) After the first invoice, the qualified employer must make a monthly premium

payment of no less than 85 percent of the total. balance due, including any amounts. past

due, by the due date on the invoice.
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{c) If a qualified employer makes. a payment. for less than the full amount due, the

payment will be allocated by the totalpercentage .paid across all amounts due for health

:and dental benefits, if any.

(d) In any month after a qualified employer has .paid its initial month's premium, if

a qualified employer does not pay its premium .pursuant to subdivision. (b) of this

section, the SHOP will, on the day following the due date of the invoice, mail a notice of

delinquency to the. qualified employer that shows the past due balance, informs the

qualified employer of the applicable grace period pursuant to Section 10273.4(a)(1) of

the California Insurance Code and Section 1365(a)(1) of the California Health and

Safety Cods, states the effective date of termination if payment is not received during

the grace period; provides instructions for making .the. premium payment necessary in

order to maintain. coverage in force, and provides notice of the qualified employer's right

to .request review of the cancelation by the .applicable regulator.

(e) If a .qualified employer makes a premium payment ~+a-e-k~ee~ that is returned

unpaid for. any reason1 the SHOP shall. apply a $25.00 insufficient funds. fee. If a

qualified employer makes a second premium payment that is returned unpaid for any

reason within six months of the prior returned payment, the quairfied employer shall

submit premium payment and the insufficient funds fee for returned pa}~ment in the form

of a cashier's check or money order. This requirement to make monthly premium

payments in the form of a cashier's :check ar money order shall continue for a period of

12 months beginning with the first of the month following the last paid-through date. If

premium payment is not submitted in one of these two forms. the qualified emp~er
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group may be subject to termination for non-payment of premium as described in

Section 6538 (c)(2~.

{~ If a qualified. employer has been terminated pursuant to Section. 6538(a), then

the group may request to be reinstated in the same coverage in which it was last

enrolled .within 30 days after the effective date of termination. Past due premiums, if

any, must be paid. before. a group may be reinstated without. a lapse in coverage.

tg) A qualified employer terminated due to .non-.payment of premium in Section

6538(c) may request to be reinstated in the same coverage in which it was last enrolled

within 30 days after. the. effective date of #ermination. Past due premiums, if any, must

be paid before a group may be reinstated without a lapse in coverage.

(h) A qualified employer may not reinstate coverage. 31 or more days. following

the. effective date of termination and. may only reinstate. once during the 12-month

period beginning at the time of their original effective date or from their most recent

renewal date, whichever is more recent. Exceptions will be considered on a case-by-

case basis.

(i) Terminated groups seeking to reapply far. coverage 31 or more days following

the effective date of termination shall be .considered a .new group with an effective. date

consistent with the provisions of .this Section and Section 6520 (a) (13).

{j) Collections for delinquent accounts payable will be performed as per State

Accounting Manual (SAM) section 8776.6 (non-employee accounts receivable).

Note: Authority cited: Section 100504, Government Code. Reference: Sections 100502
and 1 Q0503, Government Code; and 45 CFR Sections 155.705, 155.720 and 156.285.
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