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Overview 
 

Beginning in August, 2016, Covered California will send a notice to those consumers approaching or are 
over their 65th birthday who may be eligible for Medicare. The notice advises them that they may no 
longer be eligible for Advanced Premium Tax Credit or Covered California coverage. If the consumer 
receives the notice, it will be displayed in the online application (CalHEERS). 
 

Medicare 
 

 Medicare is the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 years of age or older, certain 
younger people with disabilities, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure 
requiring dialysis or a transplant, sometimes called ESRD). 

 
Medicare and Covered California Eligibility 
 

After becoming eligible for Medicare, most consumers will no longer qualify for financial assistance 
through Covered California and will need to cancel their Covered California plan. Consumers must report 
Medicare eligibility to Covered California within 30 days of becoming eligible. If these consumers 
continue to receive financial assistance, they may have to pay some or all of it back to the IRS at tax 
time.  However, there is one exception:  
  

 If the consumer has to pay a premium for Medicare Part A coverage and they have not enrolled in 
Medicare Part A, they may be able to continue Covered California coverage and keep their financial 
assistance.   

Coverage 
Type: 

Original Medicare 
Original 

Medicare 

Medicare 
Advantage 

Plans 

Prescription 
Drug 
Plans 

Medicare 
Supplemental 

Plans 

AKA: Part A Part B Part C Part D Medigap 

Offered By: Federal Federal 
Private 

(Contracts with 
Medicare) 

Private Private 

 

 Inpatient 
Hospital Stay 

 Nursing Facility 
Needs 

 Hospice Care 

 Home Health 
Care (Limited) 

 Doctor 
Services 
(Limited) 

 Outpatient 
Care 

 Medical 
Supplies 

 Preventive 
Services 

 Benefits of 
Part A 

 Benefits of 
Part B 

 Most Offer 
Prescription 

 Add  Drug 
Prescription 
Coverage to 
Part A and B 

 Help Pay 
Cost not 
Covered 
by Part A 
and B 

 
 

Medicare 
Open 

Enrollment 

January 1 through 
March 31 

(if consumer did 
not sign up when 
initially eligible) 

January 1 
through March 

31 
(if consumer did 

not sign up 
when initially 

eligible) 

October 15 
through 

December 7 

October 15 
through 

December 7 

Open 
Enrollment or 

Special 
Enrollment 

Period 

What is 

Covered: 

http://hbex.coveredca.com/toolkit/pdfs/Medicare_Notice_English_FINAL.pdf
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Enrolling in Medicare 
 
A consumer can apply for Medicare by calling the Social Security Administration during their Medicare 
Initial Enrollment Period, which starts three months before the month of their 65th birthday and ends 
three months after the month of your 65th birthday (total of seven months).  

 If a consumer misses their Initial Enrollment Period, they can enroll during the General 
Enrollment Period from January 1 through March 31 of each year but they may have to pay a 
late enrollment penalty to Medicare, which may increase each year that they do not enroll in 
Medicare.  
 

 If a consumer keeps their Covered California plan because they missed their Initial Enrollment 
Period, they may have to pay some or all of the financial assistance they received for their 
Covered California plan back to the IRS at tax time.  
 

 Consumers cannot purchase a Covered California health plan while enrolled in Medicare. A 
Covered California health plan provides the same health benefits received on Medicare. 
However, consumers should still apply through Covered California because they may be eligible 
for additional coverage through Medi-Cal. 
 

Terminating Covered California 
 

 To avoid a gap in coverage, a consumer should not cancel their Covered California health plan until 
they know their Medicare coverage start date.  
 

 A consumer’s enrollment in a Covered California plan will not be automatically be cancelled, even if 
they are enrolled in a Medicare plan through the same plan carrier as their Covered California health 
plan. The consumer must request the termination of the Covered California plan at least 14 days 
prior to their requested termination date.  

 

 If a consumer does report Medicare eligibility to Covered California and continues to receive 
premium tax credits, they are deemed ineligible for premium tax credit as of the first day of the 
fourth calendar month following their 65th birthday. 

 

 If a consumer’s Medicare coverage has already started, Covered California will not be able to cancel 
their coverage for past months or the current month.   
 

Medi-Cal & Medicare Coverage 

 
If a consumer qualifies for both Medi-Cal and Medicare, Medi-Cal will help pay for Medicare premiums 
and cost-sharing requirements, and may also cover some benefits that are not covered by Medicare, 
such as dental services, nursing home care, and personal care services.  Also, a consumer might qualify 
for extra financial assistance to help with the cost of Medicare Part D prescription drug coverage. 
 
 
 

http://www.medicare.gov/your-medicare-costs/help-paying-costs/medicaid/medicaid.html
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Contact Information 
 

 Medicare 
o Questions on Medicare enrollment consequences 

 800.633.4227 
 www.Medicare.gov 

 

 Health Insurance Counseling & Advocacy Program (HICAP) 
o Free, individual counseling on Medicare coverage questions, rights, and health care 

options 
 800.434.0222 

 

 Social Security Administration (SSA) 
o To change an address, Medicare Part A or Part B, or if a consumer lost their Medicare 

card 
 800.772.1213 

http://www.medicare.gov/

